In the worlds before Monkey,primal chaos reigned.Heaven sought order,but the pheonix can fly only when its feathers are grown.The four worlds formed again and yet again,as endless aeons wheeled and passed.Time and the pure essences of Heaven,the moisture of the Earth,the powers of the sun and the moon all worked upon a certain rock,old as creation,and it became magically fertile.That first egg was named 'Thought'.Tathagata Buddha,the Father Buddha,said ,"With our thoughts,we make the world". Elemantal forces caused the egg to hatch.From it then came a stone monkey.
The nature of Monkey was irrepressible.!!
These were the words that started each episode of this weird,but great Japanese fantasy series.It is based on an epic Chinese story from the 16th Century,called Hsi Yu Chi.
The four main stars of the show were :
           as Monkey                        as Sandy                      as Tripitaka                        as Pigsy
Episode Guide
In total there were 52 episodes,39 of which were translated to English and shown on TV in the UK.
The other 13 episodes were not translated into English,and hence were not shown here on TV.
The first section lists the episodes that were shown in the UK,while the second section lists the episodes that were not translated or shown in the UK
Section 1
1.Monkey Goes Wild About Heaven
2.Monkey Turns Nursemaid
3.The Great Journey Begins
4.Monkey Swallows the Universe
5.The Power of Youth
6.Even Monsters Can be People
7.The Beginning of Wisdom
8.Pigsy Woos a Widow
9.What Monkey Calls the Dog-Woman
10.Pigsy's in the Well
11.The Difference Between Night and Day
12.Pearls Before Swine
                                                          13.The Minx and the Slug
14.Catfish, Saint and the Shape-Changer
15.Monkey Meets the Demon Digger
16.The Most Monstrous Monster
17.Truth and the Grey Gloves Devil
18.Land for the Locusts
19.Vampire Master
20.Outrageous Coincidences
21.Pigsy, King and God
22.Village of the Undead
23.Two Little Blessings
24.The Fires of Jealousy
25.The Country of Nightmares
26.The End of the Way
27.Pigsy's Ten Thousand Ladies
28.The Dogs of Death
29.The Foolish Philosopher
30.Who Am I?
31.What is Wisdom?
32.The Fountain of Youth
33.A Shadow So Huge
34.Keep on Dancing
35.Give and Take
36.Such a Nice Monster
37.Pretty as a Picture
 39.At the Top of the Mountain
Section 2
You Win Some, You Lose Some
Pigsy Learns A Lesson
The Land With Two Suns
The House of the Evil Spirit
Am I Dreaming?
The Tormented Emperor
Between Heaven and Hell
Better The Demon You Know
The Fake Pilgrims
The Tenacious Tomboy
Hungry Like The Wolf